Some Music for the World Traveller

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a downloadable playlist, so I finally fought off my laziness long enough to put some songs together and get one up on the blog— and now I feel like I’ve had a pretty productive day and it’s only noon, which is dangerous, because I may spend the rest of the afternoon watching terrible reality TV or napping with the dog to keep me in check.  It’s my day off and these are my life decisions…

Travelling has always been a pretty fun and relaxing thing for me, because you’re usually going somewhere new and exciting so it’s always worth the sore neck from awkward napping positions and germs from the recycled air, plus, making a playlist for the airport/flight just adds extra excitement to the whole process. So here are 15 songs inspired by travelling and the places that make me want to go to them, that hopefully you can enjoy next time you take off.

DOWNLOAD HERE

Track Listing:
01 You Only Live Once - the Strokes
 02 Gangster Tripping - Fatboy Slim
 03 Archipelago - Miike Snow
 04 Leave House - Caribou
 05 Eighth Avenue - Hospitality
 06 Trip - Vacationer
 07 Canada vs. America - Broken Social Scene
 08 Mexico - The Soft Pack
09 Verona - Geographer
 08 Zimbabwe - Bob Marley 
10 Paris 2004 - Peter, Bjorn & John
11 Summer - Tiger Waves
 13 Desert Island - Architecture in Helsinki
14 The Harrowing Adventures Of - Tokyo Police Club
 15 Lucid Dreams - Franz Ferdinand

Toronto Concert Update: September, October, November

I’ve been anticipating a bumper crop of concerts in Toronto this fall, and what a harvest it’s going to be! Tune-yards, Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn and John, Ra Ra Riot… my wallet’s going to be as empty and cold as my ex-boyfriend’s parents. And so, Music Between Friends presents our fall edition of the Toronto Concert Update.

SEPTEMBER

Peter Bjorn & John @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 2, 2011 and Sat Sept 3, 2011 – $20.00

Harlan Pepper @ Rivoli, 19+
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $10.00

Said The Whale @ Mod Club, All Ages
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $16.00

Empire of the Sun @ Echo Beach, All Ages
Tues Sept 13, 2011 – $41.00

Kid CuDi @ Molson Amphitheatre, All Ages
Thurs Sept 15, 2011 – $29.50-55.00

Olivia Tremor Control @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $18.50

Vivian Girls @ The Shop, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $15.00

Mother Mother @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $26.50

Two Door Cinema Club @ Kool Haus, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $21.00

Toro Y Moi @ Opera House, 19+
Sun Sept 18, 2011 – $20.00

Starfucker @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Sept 20, 2011 – $13.50

The Shins @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $31.00

Tahiti 80 @ Horseshoe, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $13.50

Kid Sister @ Wrongbar, 19+
Sat Sept 24, 2011 – $15.00

Tune-Yards @ Lee’s, 19+
Mon Sept 26, 2011 – $16.50

Girls @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Sept 27, 2011 – $16.50

Mates of State @ Phoenix, 19+
Wed Sept 28, 2011 – $16.00

Ohbijou @ Trinity St. Paul’s, All Ages
Fri Sept 30, 2011 – $20.00

OCTOBER

Foster The People @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 1, 2011 – SOLD OUT

Naked and Famous @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $21.00

Ra Ra Riot @ Lee’s, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $17.50

Portishead @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Mon Oct 10, 2011 – $59.50

Drums @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Oct 11, 2011 – $16.00

Braids @ Horseshoe, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $12.00

Yukon Blonde @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $11.50

Iron & Wine @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 15, 2011 – $28.50

Dum Dum Girls w/ Crocodiles and Colleen Green @ Lee’s, 19+
Sun Oct 16, 2011 – $17.50

Neon Indian @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Oct 18, 2011 – $15.00

GIVERS w/ Lord Huron @ Wrongbar, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $13.00

Friendly Fires @ Phoenix, 19+
Sun Oct 23, 2011 – $21.00

Metronomy @ Mod Club, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $16.00

Death From Above 1979 @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Thurs Oct 27, 2011 and Fri October 28, 2011 – $36.00

Chad Vangaalen @ Mod Club, 19+
Fri Oct 28, 2011 – $20.00

Blitzen Trapper w/ Dawes @ Opera House, 19+
Thurs Oct 30, 2011 – $18.50

NOVEMBER

Holy Ghost @ Hoxton, 19+
Tues Nov 1, 2011 – $17.00

Chromeo @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Wed Nov 2, 2011 – $31.50

Lykke Li @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Tues Nov 15, 2011 – $31.50

Radio Dept @ Mod Club, 19+
Thurs Nov 17, 2011 – $15.00

Elliott Brood @ Phoenix, 19+
Fri Nov 18, 2011 – $20.00

The Kooks @ Sound Academy, All Ages/19+ Area
Wed Nov 23, 2011 – $25.00-35.00

Timber Timbre @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre, All Ages
Sat Nov 26, 2011 – $27.50

Jay-Z & Kanye West @ Air Canada Centre, All Ages
Wed Nov 23, 2011 and Thurs Nov 24, 2011 – $59.50-250.00

That’s it for now, friends. Enjoy the concerts and make sure to grab a band tee for me.

Get Stroked- Stereogum Pays Tribute to This is It with a Collection of Covers

Stereogum has released an album of covers to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Is This It.  You can download the compilation here with covers from bands like Peter, Bjorn & John, Wise Blood, and The Morning Benders.  Is This It is an album that holds a lot of nostalgia for me.  I remember the first time I heard Hard to Explain and pressing record after the intro, not even caring that I was cutting into the mixed tape already in the boombox. Even though the covers don’t compare to my sentiment with the originals, this is still a fun listen for me.

Track Listing

01 Peter Bjorn And John – “Is This It”
02 Chelsea Wolfe – “The Modern Age”
03 Frankie Rose – “Soma”
04 Real Estate – “Barely Legal”
05 Wise Blood – “Someday”
06 Austra – “Alone, Together”
07 the morning benders – “Last Night”
08 Owen Pallett – “Hard To Explain”
09 Heems – “New York City Cops”
10 Deradoorian – “Trying Your Luck”
11 Computer Magic – “Take It Or Leave It”

Gimme Some

Website|Myspace|Tour

The new Peter, Bjorn & John album, Gimme Some, will be out on the 29th (and I’m very excited about that).  Apparently the songs have been leaked for some time now, but here are a couple of new ones for you to enjoy.

Breaker, Breaker – Peter, Bjorn & John

Before you break my heart
Before you run
I’m gonna break your nose and sing about it

I find these lyrics sweet/cute, is that messed up?

May Seem Macabre – Peter, Bjorn & John
 

Second Chance- Peter, Bjorn & John