Music Video Monday: Losing You by Solange

This music video is a good answer/visual representation of the question, “what is a hipster?”.  That being said I love it, and the song, and if you were wondering who Solange was, she is more than just Beyonce’s sister.  She is also the person who introduced Jay-Z and Beyonce to Grizzly Bear.

You can check out Solange’s EP True here, an album that she helped produce and write, or you can catch her performance in Toronto, February 22 at the Danforth Music Hall.  See you there!

Sasha’s Favourite Albums of 2011- ENTIRE LIST

#1 – Jay Z & Kanye West – Watch the Throne

I’m sure this one came a shocker (…not).  Even though a bunch of the songs act as advertisements, the quality of this album is hard to match, and it was an easy pick as favourite of the year.  You would have to be living under a rock to not have heard at least one of Watch the Throne’s singles/songs, and you would have to be hit by that rock upside the head to not enjoy it… And on that note I hope everyone has a great New Years Eve, I’d be willing to bet you will be hearing this song at least once (or 3 times like their encores on this tour).  Enjoy!

Jay-Z & Kanye WestGotta Have it

 – The English Riviera
#3 – Bon Iver – Bon Iver, Bon Iver 

#4 – Caveman – CoCo Beware

#5 – Foster the People – Torches

#6 – Lykke Li – Wounded Rhymes

#7 – tUnE-yArDs – WHO KILL


# 8 (TIE) – Drake – Take Care & Childish Gambino – CAMP

#9 – Florence and the Machine – Ceremonials (Deluxe Edition)

#10 – Arctic Monkeys – Suck it and See

Excuse My French, But I’m In France…

On a shorter and far less indie note than Katie’s most recent post.  Here is a song from Watch the Throne to pump you up on a Thursday.  Easily my favourite song on the album. I wish I knew what triggered them to pick Blades of Glory to take soundbites from, but I will just have to start putting in time on my rap career, work my way to the top until I befriend Jay-Z, only to become best friends with Beyonce (giggling over how my real name is Sasha, and her alter ego is Sasha Fierce) then ask about the soundbite…  Mystery Solved.

Jay Z & Kanye WestN*****s in Paris

Toronto Concert Update: September, October, November

I’ve been anticipating a bumper crop of concerts in Toronto this fall, and what a harvest it’s going to be! Tune-yards, Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn and John, Ra Ra Riot… my wallet’s going to be as empty and cold as my ex-boyfriend’s parents. And so, Music Between Friends presents our fall edition of the Toronto Concert Update.

SEPTEMBER

Peter Bjorn & John @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 2, 2011 and Sat Sept 3, 2011 – $20.00

Harlan Pepper @ Rivoli, 19+
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $10.00

Said The Whale @ Mod Club, All Ages
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $16.00

Empire of the Sun @ Echo Beach, All Ages
Tues Sept 13, 2011 – $41.00

Kid CuDi @ Molson Amphitheatre, All Ages
Thurs Sept 15, 2011 – $29.50-55.00

Olivia Tremor Control @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $18.50

Vivian Girls @ The Shop, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $15.00

Mother Mother @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $26.50

Two Door Cinema Club @ Kool Haus, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $21.00

Toro Y Moi @ Opera House, 19+
Sun Sept 18, 2011 – $20.00

Starfucker @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Sept 20, 2011 – $13.50

The Shins @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $31.00

Tahiti 80 @ Horseshoe, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $13.50

Kid Sister @ Wrongbar, 19+
Sat Sept 24, 2011 – $15.00

Tune-Yards @ Lee’s, 19+
Mon Sept 26, 2011 – $16.50

Girls @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Sept 27, 2011 – $16.50

Mates of State @ Phoenix, 19+
Wed Sept 28, 2011 – $16.00

Ohbijou @ Trinity St. Paul’s, All Ages
Fri Sept 30, 2011 – $20.00

OCTOBER

Foster The People @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 1, 2011 – SOLD OUT

Naked and Famous @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $21.00

Ra Ra Riot @ Lee’s, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $17.50

Portishead @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Mon Oct 10, 2011 – $59.50

Drums @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Oct 11, 2011 – $16.00

Braids @ Horseshoe, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $12.00

Yukon Blonde @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $11.50

Iron & Wine @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 15, 2011 – $28.50

Dum Dum Girls w/ Crocodiles and Colleen Green @ Lee’s, 19+
Sun Oct 16, 2011 – $17.50

Neon Indian @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Oct 18, 2011 – $15.00

GIVERS w/ Lord Huron @ Wrongbar, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $13.00

Friendly Fires @ Phoenix, 19+
Sun Oct 23, 2011 – $21.00

Metronomy @ Mod Club, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $16.00

Death From Above 1979 @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Thurs Oct 27, 2011 and Fri October 28, 2011 – $36.00

Chad Vangaalen @ Mod Club, 19+
Fri Oct 28, 2011 – $20.00

Blitzen Trapper w/ Dawes @ Opera House, 19+
Thurs Oct 30, 2011 – $18.50

NOVEMBER

Holy Ghost @ Hoxton, 19+
Tues Nov 1, 2011 – $17.00

Chromeo @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Wed Nov 2, 2011 – $31.50

Lykke Li @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Tues Nov 15, 2011 – $31.50

Radio Dept @ Mod Club, 19+
Thurs Nov 17, 2011 – $15.00

Elliott Brood @ Phoenix, 19+
Fri Nov 18, 2011 – $20.00

The Kooks @ Sound Academy, All Ages/19+ Area
Wed Nov 23, 2011 – $25.00-35.00

Timber Timbre @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre, All Ages
Sat Nov 26, 2011 – $27.50

Jay-Z & Kanye West @ Air Canada Centre, All Ages
Wed Nov 23, 2011 and Thurs Nov 24, 2011 – $59.50-250.00

That’s it for now, friends. Enjoy the concerts and make sure to grab a band tee for me.