Indie-licious Tues July 16th 2013

1. Maze Fancier – Thee Oh Sees
2. She Shakes – Dirt Farmer
3. Teenagers In Heat – Holy Ghost!
4. Busman’s Holiday – Allah-Las
5. Heartbreaker – Girls
6. Ends of the Earth – Lord Huron
7. You Sleep Too Much – Pangea
8. Coral – GRMLN
9. Take It Easy – Surfer Blood
10. She’s A Riot – The Jungle Giants
11. In-Out – Dan Croll
12. Baby I Am Nobody Now – Andy Bull
13. Golden Hour – Prince Innocence
14. Stand Divided – Plumes
15. til the Final Echo – Robert Loveless and the Loveland Band
16. 256 Greys – The Cable-Knits
17. The People Left – Sheer Agony

DOWNLOAD

Toronto Concert Update: September, October, November

I’ve been anticipating a bumper crop of concerts in Toronto this fall, and what a harvest it’s going to be! Tune-yards, Lykke Li, Peter Bjorn and John, Ra Ra Riot… my wallet’s going to be as empty and cold as my ex-boyfriend’s parents. And so, Music Between Friends presents our fall edition of the Toronto Concert Update.

SEPTEMBER

Peter Bjorn & John @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 2, 2011 and Sat Sept 3, 2011 – $20.00

Harlan Pepper @ Rivoli, 19+
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $10.00

Said The Whale @ Mod Club, All Ages
Thurs Sept 8, 2011 – $16.00

Empire of the Sun @ Echo Beach, All Ages
Tues Sept 13, 2011 – $41.00

Kid CuDi @ Molson Amphitheatre, All Ages
Thurs Sept 15, 2011 – $29.50-55.00

Olivia Tremor Control @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $18.50

Vivian Girls @ The Shop, 19+
Fri Sept 16, 2011 – $15.00

Mother Mother @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $26.50

Two Door Cinema Club @ Kool Haus, All Ages
Sat Sept 17, 2011 – $21.00

Toro Y Moi @ Opera House, 19+
Sun Sept 18, 2011 – $20.00

Starfucker @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Sept 20, 2011 – $13.50

The Shins @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $31.00

Tahiti 80 @ Horseshoe, 19+
Thurs Sept 22, 2011 – $13.50

Kid Sister @ Wrongbar, 19+
Sat Sept 24, 2011 – $15.00

Tune-Yards @ Lee’s, 19+
Mon Sept 26, 2011 – $16.50

Girls @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Sept 27, 2011 – $16.50

Mates of State @ Phoenix, 19+
Wed Sept 28, 2011 – $16.00

Ohbijou @ Trinity St. Paul’s, All Ages
Fri Sept 30, 2011 – $20.00

OCTOBER

Foster The People @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 1, 2011 – SOLD OUT

Naked and Famous @ Phoenix, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $21.00

Ra Ra Riot @ Lee’s, 19+
Thurs Oct 6, 2011 – $17.50

Portishead @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Mon Oct 10, 2011 – $59.50

Drums @ Mod Club, 19+
Tues Oct 11, 2011 – $16.00

Braids @ Horseshoe, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $12.00

Yukon Blonde @ Lee’s, 19+
Fri Oct 14, 2011 – $11.50

Iron & Wine @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Sat Oct 15, 2011 – $28.50

Dum Dum Girls w/ Crocodiles and Colleen Green @ Lee’s, 19+
Sun Oct 16, 2011 – $17.50

Neon Indian @ Lee’s, 19+
Tues Oct 18, 2011 – $15.00

GIVERS w/ Lord Huron @ Wrongbar, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $13.00

Friendly Fires @ Phoenix, 19+
Sun Oct 23, 2011 – $21.00

Metronomy @ Mod Club, 19+
Wed Oct 26, 2011 – $16.00

Death From Above 1979 @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Thurs Oct 27, 2011 and Fri October 28, 2011 – $36.00

Chad Vangaalen @ Mod Club, 19+
Fri Oct 28, 2011 – $20.00

Blitzen Trapper w/ Dawes @ Opera House, 19+
Thurs Oct 30, 2011 – $18.50

NOVEMBER

Holy Ghost @ Hoxton, 19+
Tues Nov 1, 2011 – $17.00

Chromeo @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Wed Nov 2, 2011 – $31.50

Lykke Li @ Sound Academy, All Ages
Tues Nov 15, 2011 – $31.50

Radio Dept @ Mod Club, 19+
Thurs Nov 17, 2011 – $15.00

Elliott Brood @ Phoenix, 19+
Fri Nov 18, 2011 – $20.00

The Kooks @ Sound Academy, All Ages/19+ Area
Wed Nov 23, 2011 – $25.00-35.00

Timber Timbre @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre, All Ages
Sat Nov 26, 2011 – $27.50

Jay-Z & Kanye West @ Air Canada Centre, All Ages
Wed Nov 23, 2011 and Thurs Nov 24, 2011 – $59.50-250.00

That’s it for now, friends. Enjoy the concerts and make sure to grab a band tee for me.

Girls scheduled to release third album Father, Son, Holy Ghost on Sept 7th, 2011

Exactly two years after the release of their debut album, Album, and one year after the release of Broken Dreams Club EP, San Francisco’s Girls have announced the release of their third album, Father, Son, Holy Ghost.

To me, Album carried the sound of teenagers messing around on guitars, sprawled out on the worn-out couch in the darkened garage. Broken Dreams Club sounded like the painful spring break spent mourning over unrequited love under the cabana. In my head, Father, Son, Holy Ghost is the confessionary of a post-collegiate idlewild who’s wisened-up to the perils of heartbreak.

Based on the track listing, this will be a fully-fleshed out album that explores a variety of bodily functions (Vomit; Die) and controversial topics (Magic). There’s even a track called Jamie Marie (Album contained a track called Lauren Marie). This only confirms my suspicions that nearly every North American female has been saddled with that middle name, including myself.

According to the band, the album was recorded in the basement of an office building with a variety of “tube and transistor based recording” devices. The lineup was also tweaked with the addition of drummer Darren Weiss and guitarist John Anderson to join Christopher Owens and Chet White.

Music Between Friends will be sure to release the album’s single as soon as it comes out!

Track Listing:
1. Honey Bunny
2. Alex
3. Die
4. Saying I Love You
5. My Ma
6. Vomit
7. Just A Song
8. Magic
9. Forgiveness
10. Love Like A River
11. Jamie Marie

F*$%!! Are you cussing with me? My Favourite Songs With Swears

I’m just going to start off by saying that if you’re reading this at work, stop.

This post is NSFW. All of these songs have content that might get you in trouble.

I’ve always been able to get away with cussing. I think it’s my cutesy, girlish voice; it seems to be able to soften even the Professor McGonagalliest of hearts. Growing up, it was always my sister whose diet consisted of a steady supply of Dove soap (hurray for double standards!). I’ve been trying to cut back on swearing, and have instead practiced a range of dirty looks that are much more immature and hilarious.

MP3: Fuck Her TearsTimes New Viking

Just found out about this band after creating the online ticket sales for them at the Sled Island Music Festival. Every time I see another female crying for a really lame reason, I find myself thinking “fuck her tears!“. SO WHAT IF YOUR COOKIES DIDN’T TURN OUT. MAKE ANOTHER BATCH. PUT IN A TAMPON.

        MP3: Shave My PussyChad Vangaalen

Oh Chad Vangaalen; you know exactly what it’s like to be a modern girl. As a tween who snuck old copies of Cosmopolitan out of her older friends’ bedrooms, I can attest that many a girl places her self-worth in the tidiness of her hedges.

MP3: Big Bad Mean MotherfuckerGirls

According to Girls, all you need to be a Big Bad Mean Motherfucker:
– Short jean shorts
– Ice cream cone
No mention of actual mothers, but I guess they just gravitate toward you when you have a dripping vanilla cone and frayed denim shorts hanging off your bony hipster ass.

MP3: Bitches Ain’t Shit (Dr. Dre)Ben Folds

I always find myself singing this with a bunch of my whitest, nerdiest friends. Makes me feel +1 cool. Makes me look +1 lame.

Thinking of other songs with swears? Leave a comment and help me build my library!