Indie-licious Podcast! July 19th 2011

For those of you who may have forgotten, I do a weekly radio show on CFMU on Tuesdays from 5-6pm called Indie-licious. I finished tomorrow’s show early, so check it out! I was in a bit of a goofy mood, as you will see when you listen to me speak… in a variety of character voices…

Indie-licious – July 19th 2011


1. Menopause ManAriel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti
2. You Will Always Bring Me FlowersShannon and the Clams
3. I’m Gonna TryShimmering Stars
4. In Tall GrassTara Jane O’Neil
5. Fog EmotionVetiver
6. Family TreeBlack Lips
7. MarriageGold Panda
8. Oh, Ivory!Light Pollution
9. Ah!Oval
10. Some WrittenMetronomy
11. Hands In The SkyHere We Go Magic
12. Midnight RunnerCut Copy
13. All Die YoungSmith Westerns
14. Flashy StormCandy Claws
15. BelongWashed Out

Coachella 2011 Playlist

The only frustrating thing about the Coachella live webcasts is that you cannot view them in Canada after the original air date. I guess they’ll just have to live on in my memory, just like Rose’s whirlwind romance aboard the Titanic.

Here’s a playlist I whipped up for the occasion! Think of it as a slice of Coachella-shaped birthday cake. A morsel to tide you over until next year.

Download here.

Or grab the individual tracks:

1. Under Cover of DarknessThe Strokes
2. Cheap and CheerfulThe Kills
3. AudienceCold War Kids
4. Better in Blue The Morning Benders
5. Jewels and GoldAngus & Julia Stone
6. L’estat (according to the widow’s maid)Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti
7. HappyBest Coast
8. You Know What I meanCults
9. Lights & MusicCut Copy
10. Girl U WantFreelance Whales
11. Ce jeuYelle
12. FogNosaj Thing
13. Helena BeatFoster the People

New Junior Boys, The Antlers, and Holy Ghost!

In June, Hamilton indie-trons Junior Boys will release their fourth studio album It’s All True on Domino Records. Fairly compact, it clocks in at only nine tracks. I’ve been looking forward to their next project since 2009’s Begone Dull Care, which is a gem and a half, but I have mixed feelings about ep.

epJunior Boys (from It’s All True due out June 13, 2011)

ep, the second-last track on It’s All True, sounds like the duo took a dip into their childhood and came out dripping in heavily-eighties synth sounds. I’m not overly fond of cheesy synth, but the sultry voice of Jeremy Greenspan makes anything sound good. I’m sure it’ll grow on me… although I might only play it when I’m in a Chromeo kind of mood.

It’s my guess that there’ll be some sort of album-release gathering at The Brain, since it’s owned by Jeremy Greenspan and happens to be a pretty chill bar; if you’ve ever seen it, you’d probably agree that it oozes eccentricity from the refurbished brickwork and reclaimed furniture. So come June, if there happens to be any sort of album hoopla at The Brain, I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

ParenthesesThe Antlers (from Burst Apart due out May 10, 2011)

Next month, Brooklyn-based threepiece The Antlers will put out their fourth studio album, Burst Apart, on Frenchkiss Records. This soft-spoken trio has been doing quite well since starting as Peter Silberman’s solo project in 2006. After expanding into a three-man act, they were picked up by Frenchkiss and released Hospice in 2009. Although Hospice was a bit depressing (it told the story of the emotionally abusive relationship between a hospice worker and a terminally ill patient, so how happy could it possibly be?) Burst Apart already sounds like it’ll be a bit more of a pick-me-up.

Parentheses reminds me of an investigator walking through the ruins of an abandoned mental institution with a steaming white mug of coffee in his hand. My family and I used to take walks through the decrepit buildings of Whitby Psych when I was a kid and I always kept my eyes peeled for rogue ghosts. Speaking of ghosts:

Do It AgainHoly Ghost! (from Do It Again out on January 25, 2011)

This Holy Ghost! track was actually released earlier this year in January, but it’s new to me. Also, since Holy Ghost! are touring in Toronto this week (April 7 @ Sound Academy w/ Cut Copy), maybe this track will encourage any readers out there to check out this awesome pair live. Download Do It Again on RCRDLBL.

Fall Favourites Playlist!

It’s Thanksgiving here in Canada, and one thing I’m thankful for is the lovely music that I get to hear every week by DJ-ing at CFMU 93.3. The volume of new releases I’m met with every week means that I’m bound to hear something wonderful even when I don’t try to find anything. All of the tracks on MBF’s Playlist Fall Favourites were featured on my show (Tues. Oct 5). And since I can’t stop playing them all over and over again, I thought you’d like to hear them too.

Where I’m Going by Australian electropop band Cut Copy is a sneaky-deaky sliver of their upcoming 2011 album! I love the off-kilter rhythm in that song; it reminds me of the beat in Gary Glitter‘s Rock and Roll. Scandal at the Parkade by Toronto’s own Owen Pallett is from the utterly charming 4-track EP A Swedish Love Story (said to be a tribute to all of the Swede artists Pallett has found inspiration in).

I’m not normally an overwhelming Metric fan, but this Cosmonaut Grechko version of Collect Call starts out sweet and has me hopping around in no time. I’ve always been curious about Felix da Housecat but this is my first foray into his music. I have to say – I’m a fan! I was feeling soulful (and destitute) when I put Aloe Blacc’s I need a dollar into Fall Favourites.

The rest of the tracks on this playlist are all magical and I know that I’m not going to get tired of them anytime soon.


Track Listing
1. Collect Call (Cosmonaut Grechko Version) – Metric
2. We All Wanna Be Prince – Felix da Housecat
3. I Need a Dollar – Aloe Blacc
4. Where I’m Going – Cut Copy
5. Scandal at the Parkade – Owen Pallett
6. He Would Have Laughed – Deerhunter
7. Passed Out – White Apple Tree
8. Numbers Don’t Lie – The Mynabirds
9. I Don’t Believe You – The Thermals
10. Fast Lane – Husky Rescue

Lost at Sea Playlist (mp3s)

Hey guys!
It’s been a while since I’ve done a playlist for the blog, so here’s a brand new one called Lost at Sea featuring brand new tracks from Basia Bulat, The New Pornographers, and Stars. Download it!

– Katie